October 11th: National Coming Out Day

7 years ago I embraced my sexual identity and let me tell you that my journey has barely even started. Coming out is a process that is an infinite loop. You’re the sun in the sky that sees a new day every day. You’re the moonlight in the dark that sees a new night every night. Ever since coming out, I’ve been blessed. I’ve made many new friends, I’ve dated amazing men, I’ve had my own fair share of fun adventures, I’ve found the type of career I want to work with, I’ve developed an amazing booty shake, and most importantly, I’ve loved myself.

I’ve also been cursed. I’ve been stepped on, verbally harassed, pushed around, and physically threatened. I’ve lost friends, I’ve lost connection with my faith, I’ve been a target online, I’ve been called a rapist, and I’ve been told that my “sexual behavior” is comparable to murder. I also will never experience matrimony in the Church and never fulfill the many dreams of my parents in providing grandchildren.

I just want anyone who is reading this to know how much you are loved and cared for. Your family may not be accepting, but hey, you have other family out there who accepts you and your struggles. That’s how I got by. Please don’t ever forget that. Today is for you.

My tips on today:

1. Your safety comes first. If you are aware that you are going to put yourself in danger with those around you, please don’t force yourself to come out. It can wait.
2. Today, many people are writing notes, making videos, sending letters, preparing PowerPoints, sitting family members/friends down to talk, etc. Do what you think makes you comfortable the most.
3. Find someone that you know you can trust, and be careful who you tell.
4. Ask questions to any LGBT+ person! Many of them are open and can share their personal story and a few tips (cough).
5. Coming out of the closet has a reset button. You can be out now, but then tomorrow, new family members, friends, and acquaintances come along and boom. You have to start all over again.
6. Fun fact: you cannot come out as straight because you never hid in the closet in the first place (nice try).
7. The courage it takes to speak a few simple words is incredible. Please know that you are supported, loved, and cared for.
8. Breathe, beautiful one. Today will be a milestone and it will get better from there.

 

 

Author: kennychiwa94

One of my biggest dreams is to hang out with the people I love whenever I want.

Leave a comment